top of page
  • Writer's pictureAndrea Binley Murray

Holidays away from home

Happy Easter y’all!



Today is a day I hope you all are able to spend time with your family and appreciate what a gift it is to have time off with your family on holidays. Over the last 14 years of my career in the fire service as a Firefighter, Engineer and Captain I think I’ve missed more holidays with my family than I have had the pleasure of spending off celebrating with them. I was fine working holidays when I was young and single to allow those who had families and young children to be home with their families. Now, having a family of my own and balancing a blended family and the holiday schedule that comes with that is proving to be more difficult for our family’s schedule and for me personally.

I love my job but I love my family more! Missing moments hurts this mama’s heart. I just always think about the time I’ve never going to be able to get back. It is a balancing act that 14 years in I’m still trying to figure out. Seasons change in life, priorities shift, and fire season gets longer and longer.


 

One thing that I can take comfort in is being able to create new traditions. We are blessed to be able to improvise and have the family and my crew’s family come to the station to celebrate today. As much as it can sting to miss the holidays, I see moments like today where these children are happy to just see have their family together to spend time and play, even if this time is interrupted by emergency calls.






Days like today I reminded of why I choose a profession where helping others sometimes involves missing holidays and events.  When the man who had a full arrest (heart attack) at a local coffee shop comes by the station with his family to say thank your crew. This small gesture reminds me of the impact that we can have and that missing a holiday with our families allows people to perhaps have more time on this earth with theirs.  I stayed in contact with this man’s wife after his near fatal heart attack and his recovery is amazing and to meet him and hug them after such a traumatic time in their families lives truly warms my heart. My crew who worked so hard to save this man’s life was able to meet and see him. This is a reminder of why we do what we do and the sacrifices we make.



The sweetest gift they brought to the station.



So to all those who work today serving our country, community and other people I am grateful for each one of you.

The most important thing Easter is about to me is the fact that Jesus died for all of our sins and God loved us so much that He sacrificed His only son. Jesus made the ultimate sacrifice for us by dying on the cross. So today let’s remember that Jesus has risen so that we who believe may be forgiven of our sins and receive eternal life.



So today I CHOOSE to focus on the blessing I have been given and the positive impact I have been able to make. What are your biggest blessings? Do you know why we truly celebrate Easter?

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page